Select Page

Southern Italian Piano Project 

With Alexis Zingale

The Southern Italian Piano Project rediscovers and performs underrepresented piano music of southern Italy from the Baroque era to the current day.

Upcoming performances

Contact Us

Francesco Cilea – Suite Antica, Op. 42: III. Capriccio

Featured on the Italian American Podcast! Listen Here!


Dollars Raised

Our Story

From an American perspective: 87% of Italian-Americans are of southern Italian origin, from the enormous wave of immigration triggered by the Risorgimento. Yet in the culture of Italian-Americans, classical music of the south has not become part of the fabric of heritage. From a broader perspective: The neglect of composers from southern Italy had much to do with history; the Italian South continues to be impacted negatively by the Risorgimento. The Southern Italian Piano Project seeks to change the narrative and ensure that the lesser-known composers from the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies, both before and after the Risorgimento, attract the attention and respect given other composers in the canon of classical music.

Upcoming performances

Reach out

Our Vision & Mission

The vision of the Southern Italian Piano Project is to expand the canon of western classical music to include unfairly underrepresented composers from the south of Italy.

The Southern Italian Piano Project’s mission is to bring underrepresented music of southern Italian composers to live performance via researching and performing programs for a variety of audiences, and to continue to research piano repertoire and pianistic traditions of southern Italy.

Buy Tickets Now

We’re looking for venues

Bring Southern Italian Piano Project to your community!

If you think you’d like to bring this beautiful music to your community or venue, just click this button and send us a message. We’ll get right back with you and see about collaborating!

Upcoming Events




Saturday, March 18, 2023, 7:00pm, Spaghetti Supper Concert Series at Long Hill United Methodist Church, 6358 Main Street, Trumbull, CT 06611. Free (donations to Long Hill UMC concert series gladly accepted). Abridged version of full program with discussion of the repertoire presented.




Wednesday, April 5, 2023, 7:30pm, Garner Hall at Southern Connecticut State University, 501 Crescent St., New Haven, CT 06515. Free. This performance is made possible with support from the Stutzman Family Foundation.




Friday, April 14, 2023, 7:30pm, Marian Chapel at Marywood University,  2300 Adams Ave., Scranton, PA 18509. Free. 




Friday, April 21, 2023, 7:00pm, Teaching Artist Concert at Neighborhood Music School, 100 Audubon St., New Haven, CT 06510. Free. With Larry Zukof and Roz Morley, featuring a program of all Italian music. At all times, masks must be worn by audience members attending NMS performances and large events.


Past Events




Friday, May 20, 2022, 8:00pm, Mary Flagler Cary Hall at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music, 450 W 37th St., New York, NY – $25 via Eventbrite online only, no tickets at the door – Tickets Available Now




Sunday, May 15, 2022, 2:00pm, Littlefield Recital Hall at the University of Bridgeport/Paier College of Art, 84 Iranistan Ave., Bridgeport, CT – tickets available at the door – $20 adults, $10 seniors, free with UB/Paier/Goodwin ID, or purchase tickets for $20 online on Eventbrite – Tickets Available Now




Friday, May 6, 2022, 7:30pm, Branford Evangelical Free Church, 231 Leetes Island Road, Branford, CT – tickets available at the door – $20 adults, $10 seniors/students, or purchase tickets for $20 online on Eventbrite. – Tickets Available Now

This music is MUCH needed! I’m so delighted to finally be exposed to it by such an immensely talented artist. I hope others get the chance to experience these masterpieces!

- Andrew Potter, operatic basso

Our Donors, Partners & Sponsors

Donors to the Southern Italian Piano Project

I can’t begin to express my immense gratitude to all the donors to the Southern Italian Piano Project, all of whom believed in me, and wanted to see my dream into reality.

Fortissimo –

Matthew Collins     Jun Korenaga

Forte –

Jerry Boryca    Istvan Peter B’Racz    Michael Buschauer    Theresa Calejesan    Michael Cocchi    Karl Clodfelter    Sirena Huang    Cidalia Kettles

Sandra Koorejian    Helen Ma    Mark Rike    Charles Sant’Elia    Darwin Shen    Jack W. Wagner    Michelle Zingale    Absent Friends

Mezzo-Forte –

Nancy Alexander    Rebecca Barko    Mary Clark    Mary Alice Dutkanicz    William Hunter    Richard Highfield    Judith S. Loukides

Gretchen Pritchard    Kerry Pyo    Brian Robinson    Jo Sem    Elaine Silbereis    David Simcik

Piano –

Sundari Birdsall    Jeff D’Amelia    David Delucia    Paul DiMauro    Maliya Ellis    Carolyn Ferry    Tim Gara    Marie Glennon

Sheila Fleming Greenhouse    Carla Guerriero    Emilie Hannon    Silvio Interlandi    Brian Joy    Sergey Kochergan    Ravenna Michalsen

Alejandra Navarro    Mitchell Nelson    Laura Nerenberg    Warren Shapiro    Stephanie Tudino    Justin Vendette

Alexander Vlassenkov    The Creative Fund by BackerKit



We can’t do this without the incredible help of our donors and sponsors. If our project speaks to you and you would be willing to consider supporting the Southern Italian Piano Project, click the button below and you’ll be taken to our Kickstarter campaign. Thank you in advance for being a part of making this project possible!

Get In Touch

Connect with us on Social Media